Brisbane – Gold Coast (100km) Sun is no joke – lessons learnt from Heat Stroke

After an epic time in New Zealand with my Mum and Jake it was time to get back on the bike and continue the Australia cycle. Slightly jealous of the New Zealand cooler weather but also very excited for the next leg.

The lovely Matt had looked after my bicycle whilst I was away. He was such a top guy and really helped me out by letting me keep my bags and bike at his. I also got my sponsored products through. After packing about 40 clif bars and 20 dehydrated meals, my bags suddenly felt a lot heavier.

I had tried to be organized and I ordered a tyre whilst I was away. I went to the bicycle shop that morning after meeting a lovely local called Jenny Arnot. She had recommended the bike shop. We had a nice coffee and chatted about all things cycling.

I got to the bike shop and Mike was putting my tyre on and I could tell something was wrong. He delivered the bad news that my rim was also cracked. I was slightly frustrated as I had taken the bike in pre-New Zealand and they had done a check-over and only suggested a new tyre, they had basically missed the crack/ they could have fixed it whilst I was away but now it was too late, I had to go! Totally get these things happen though. They didn’t have a rim in the shop but they told me not to try ride more than a few hundred kms on it. They put the new tyre on and this was the start of a bit of a bicycle nightmare.

It was 11:00am and in true Claire style, I was pushing way too many things into a day. I also had 100km to ride. It was about 35 degrees. I well and truly got my ass handed to me by the Australian heat. I should have known better but I had Bowen and her sister waiting for me in a bar in Brisbane so I was pedalling hard to get there.

The first 50km were fine and I felt good. I was enjoying the ride. Around 70km/100km the trouble hit. I was feeling hot and there was little shade. I had plenty of water and was stopping regularly. I then met Lisa , she had triathlon handle bars that stick out and she looked serious. She said follow me , I know a shortcut. Lisa didn’t slow down and I am carrying 30 kilos. Instead of telling Lisa I didn’t feel well, I tried to keep up. I did keep up but later would regret. Lisa told me she was training for a long ride. It turns out Lisa is attempting to become the fastest woman to cycle across Australia ( supported) so yes Lisa was a machine. I got the courage to tell Lisa to keep going as I needed to stop. Off she went and then the pain came for me.

Suddenly, I started having stomach cramps and started vomiting. I was really in a bad way…again I had water. I basically just pushed it way too hard. I had to endure a very dangerous and stupid experience. I was vomiting , lying down and luckily some cyclists passed me and realized something was up. A lady stopped and she gave me some Almond milk , she gave me the whole bottle and left me to it. Sadly the milk was the opposite of what my stomach wanted and I was very unwell. Then a handicapped rider came with his hand-pedalled bicycle and luckily he had electrolytes, they helped for sure.

I made it to the bar and I had warned Lauren and her sister I was in a bad way prior. They had ice cold water ready but I was rubbish company to be around. We caught up but I was not in a good state. I still had to cycle to my warmshowers host that evening in the dark.

Luckily after an hour of sitting down , I started to feel more human. I rode to my warmshowers host called Clare who looked after me. She was a very similar person and is trying to go around Australia too but separate legs over her lifespan! She has done Cairns to Darwin and is one of very few people I know who has done it so it was great to ask her questions.

I was very happy to close my eyes that night and turn the lights off. I really had learnt a lot of lessons that day, I needed it then as the heat was only getting worse so better I learnt it earlier on!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started